Today, Women Winning announced the endorsement of 22 pro-choice women running for state and local offices in 2020. With these endorsements, Women Winning finalizes its 2020 Slate of 107 endorsed pro-choice women candidates who will appear on the November General Election ballot. 

“Women Winning is proud to mark this first day of early voting in Minnesota by announcing our final, formidable slate of 2020 endorsed candidates. With strong, pro-choice women running for all levels of office across the state, there is unprecedented opportunity to elect a more equitable, representative government — at a time when Minnesotans face great need and are motivated to elect their best advocates,” said Meggie Wittorf, Executive Director of Women Winning. “Pro-choice women are a political force — not only as candidates, but as marchers, donors, volunteers, and voters. With just 46 days until Election Day, Women Winning stands shoulder-to-shoulder with women across Minnesota who will continue to organize, activate, and turn out the vote to elect pro-choice women up and down the ballot!” 

Women Winning is proud to endorse 22 pro-choice women running for state and local offices in 2020:
Diane Nguyen, Minnesota Senate, District 30 
Connie Lindstrom, Minnesota House, District 1A 
Katie Malchow, Minnesota House, District 32B 
Gaylene Spolarich, Minnesota House, District 10B
Katie Werman Roche, County Board, Chisago County, District 3 
Kimetha Johnson, Mayor, West St. Paul Mayor
Marquita Butler, City Council, Brooklyn Center 
Laura Caroon, City Council, Moorhead, Ward 2 
Lisa Eng-Sarne, City Council, West St. Paul, Ward 3 
Linda Garret-Johnson, City Council, Apple Valley 
Robyn Gulley, City Council, West St. Paul, Ward 2 
Julie Strahan, City Council, Roseville 
Dannah Thompson, City Council, Roseville 
Sheila Webb, City Council, Robbinsdale, Ward 2
Helen Bassett, School Board, Robbinsdale Area Schools 
Cassidy Bjorklund, School Board, Moorhead 
Kim Ellison, School Board, Minneapolis, At Large 
KerryJo Felder, School Board, Minneapolis, District 2 
Jessica Garcia, School Board, Rochester, Seat 7 
Jamila Mame, School Board, St. Paul 
Christa Mims, School Board, Minneapolis, District 4 
Sherry Tyrell, School Board, Robbinsdale Area Schools

Women Winning’s endorsement program focuses on competitive districts for pro-choice women candidates with the goal of electing a truly representative government and creating a more equitable Minnesota. The organization’s 2020 electoral goals include electing Kamala Harris, the first woman and person of color to serve in the critical office of Vice President of the United States; protecting and expanding hard-fought 2018 wins including re-electing pro-choice champions U.S. Senator Tina Smith and Congresswoman Angie Craig in two of the most competitive federal races in the country and re-electing candidates who flipped seats in 2018 to secure only the second pro-choice majority in the history of the Minnesota House of Representatives; and flipping the anti-choice Minnesota Senate, where currently only 10 of 67 members (less than 15%) are pro-choice women. With 107 endorsed candidates on the ballot, Women Winning will continue organizing to ensure pro-choice women candidates have the support, resources, and voter turnout to win in the monumental November 3rd election. 

Meet the pro-choice women running in 2020

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This